25
Oct
07

Why don’t people take care of their animals?

Everyone is passionate about something, right?  I just feel like we as humans domesticated dogs so now it is our responsibility to take care of them.  Last night on my way home I saw a stray dog along the highway.  I have seen this dog on this same stretch of highway before.  It looks like a Border Collie/Australian Shepherd type of dog.  This time it happened to be daylight when I saw the dog, so I did what any rational person would do.  I pulled over!  To make a long story short the dog would not come to me.  So, I went home, told dh about the dog, and he insisted we both go and try to catch the dog.  The dog was already two miles from where I had seen him earlier and on the move.  No luck catching him.  We are going into winter here in Kansas, and it breaks my heart to think of him out there trying to survive in the cold.  Not only this, but people are forever dumping dogs in our area because it’s in the country and no one will see them do it.  However, what they don’t understand is that these dogs (IF they even survive) will eventually join another dog(s) to form a pack; this pack will not only kill for food, but will kill for pleasure.  This is a huge concern for anyone with livestock because they can destroy chicken flocks, sheep and baby lambs, goats and kids, and even baby calves.  People have kicked responsibility to the curb on a number of issues.  This is just one I was faced with yesterday and it totally broke my heart.

 

 

 

 

Moving on……

 

On the agenda for this weekend:

 

Make toothpaste

 

Bathe our dogs and wash all their bedding

 

Work in the garden

 

Fill our oil lamps (in preparation for the time change)

 

Regular cleaning (dust, vacuum, mop, etc.)

 

Make hot chocolate mix

 

Weigh our chickens (we should be one week away from butchering)

 

Start our cats on their natural wormer

 

Prepare a plot to transplant boysenberry bushes (from my grandma)

 

Prepare weekly menu and meals

 

Katie’s Cook Along (sauerkraut, soaked oats, and salsa) I’m a little behind and want to work a little ahead.  I have a lot of tomatoes to use up, so I thought I might try the salsa this weekend.

 

There are some other things I will try to get done, but these are the high points and the most important to me.

 

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

 

 

 

When we lived in Alabama my dh and I saw at least one stray dog on our way to and from work every single day.  We’ve even seen litters of puppies along the side of a road before.  What kind of person can stop the car (if the dog is lucky), set them out on the shoulder of the road (again if they are lucky), and drive away?  Apparently a lot of people.  One of our dogs, Koal, was dumped as a puppy along the side of road we take to work.  One morning we stopped and picked him and his brother up, took them to our vet to get shots and examined, found a home for the brother, and kept Koal.  We can’t save them all, but I would love to try!

0 Responses to “Why don’t people take care of their animals?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Adopting one child won't change the world; but for that child, the world will change.

I am the wife to my wonderful husband and joint care giver to the many animals we have acquired on our small farm here on the prairie. This is a bit about our life on our farm. We are striving for simplicity and self-sufficiency, determined to become debt-free, trying to live in tune with the natural cycles of this earth, and challenging ourselves to transition to a diet based on traditional foods. It isn't always easy, and we don't always succeed, but it is a fun learning process. Join us as we stumble through learning how to provide for ourselves, get off the treadmill, and work toward a simpler way of life.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Mortgage Payoff

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

